Frequent question: What happens when you purge in Revit?

Purging a Revit model assists in removing unused families, views, and objects from a project. … So when you purge out a family, its materials now might be unused in the project and when you next launch the Purge Unused dialog you may see additional materials that can be purged from the project.

How do you purge a Revit model?

Go to “Manage” tab > “Purge Unused” (under Settings panel), select “Check All” to automatically purge unnecessary model elements. Also, remove unused Links. Got to “Manage” > “Manage Links” (under Manage Project panel). Click through the tabs to remove all the links (AutoCAD and Revit Links) from the file.

How do you purge unused materials in Revit?

To eliminate multiple unused Materials in Revit 2012, go to the Manage tab, and select the Purge Unused command from the Settings panel. When the Purge Unused dialog box opens, expand the Other Styles option at the bottom by picking the plus sign next to it and you will see that one of the options is Materials.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  You asked: How do I change a component category in Revit?

How do you purge unused furniture in Revit?

Purge Revit families

If you want to delete unused family files, click [Purge Unused] from the Manage tab. Use caution when using this function; you will lose all family and views you are not using. I recommend you make a copy or save as the original file and [Purge Unused].

How do you purge a group in Revit?

Delete Groups

  1. In the Project Browser, right-click the group, and click Select All Instances In Entire Project.
  2. Click Modify | <group type> Groups tab Modify panel (Delete), or press Delete . All instances of the group are deleted in the project.
  3. In the Project Browser, right-click the group, and click Delete.

Is there a purge in Revit?

To purge the model, go to the manage tab, select the setting panel, and choose purge unused. Revit’s automated purging only removes certain types of objects. After running the purge, you still need to go through your models and manually remove any unwanted area schemes, views, groups, and design options.

How do you maintain models in Revit?

Ten Best Practices for Better Revit Performance

  1. Use elevation and section far clip. …
  2. Minimize DWG imports. …
  3. Don’t explode CAD drawings into families. …
  4. Remove unused options and views. …
  5. Eliminate unused families. …
  6. Use model lines sparingly. …
  7. Use room separation lines. …
  8. Worksets.

What does purge unused do?

Remove unused views, families, and other objects from the project to improve performance and reduce file size. Before purging unused objects, it is recommended that you create a backup project file. Attention: If the project is workset-enabled, all worksets must be open to use this tool.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Why is AutoCAD not working?

Where is purge in Revit?

Click Manage tab Settings panel (Purge Unused). The Purge Unused dialog lists views, families, and other objects that can be deleted from the current project. By default, all unused objects are selected for purging. Select or clear check boxes to indicate the objects to purge from the project.

How do I purge SKP?

Purge data that you don’t need anymore.

Or, to purge all your unused items at once, select Window > Model Info, select Statistics in the sidebar on the left, and click the Purge Unused button.

How do I delete a loaded family in Revit?

right-click a family, and click Edit. The family opens in the Family Editor. right-click a family or type, and click Delete from Project.

How do you audit a model in Revit?

In Revit, click File tab Open (Project).

Audit a Model

  1. Navigate to the folder where the model resides, and select it. For a workshared model, navigate to and select the central model.
  2. Select the Audit option.
  3. Click OK.

How do I install Project Browser in Revit?

As you expand and collapse each branch, lower-level items display. To open the Project Browser, click View tab Windows panel User Interface drop-down Project Browser, or right-click anywhere in the application window and click Browsers Project Browser.

What does it mean to compact a central model?

Compact Central Model

The process of compacting rewrites the entire file and removes obsolete parts in order to save space. Because the Compact process takes more time than a normal save, it is strongly recommended that you only do this when workflow can be interrupted.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  How do I apply dimensional constraints in AutoCAD?

How do I delete Group models?

In the Project Browser, right-click the group, and click Select All Instances In Entire Project. Click Modify | <group type> Groups tab Modify panel (Delete), or press Delete. All instances of the group are deleted in the project.

Designer blog